Links

 

This links page will continue to grow, in the meantime if you know of an organisation or venue which should be added please contact us


To search this page press Ctrl + F (or on a Mac press Cmd + F)  and enter your keyword i.e. ‘Wirral’ into the search window.

 

LIVERPOOL & MERSEYSIDE CULTURE

 

LARC (Liverpool Arts Regeneration Consortium) www.larc.uk.com  an alliance of eight of Liverpool’s major cultural organisations (see below), set up to play a leading role in Merseyside’s regeneration

COoL (Creative Organisations of Liverpool) www.cool-collective.co.uk COoL is a collective of 31 not-for-profit arts organisations based in Liverpool

Art In Liverpool    www.artinliverpool.com Visual arts in Liverpool and Northwest, Listings, Reviews and more

Arts & Business   www.aandb.org.uk Arts & Business sparks new partnerships between commerce and culture

Arts Council England   www.artscouncil.org.uk The national development agency for the arts in England, distributing public money from the Government and the National Lottery

Business in the Arts: North West   www.businessinarts-nw.org.uk exists to bring business skills and experience to the arts in ways that are beneficial both to business and to the arts

Liverpool City Council   www.liverpool.gov.uk

Visit Liverpool   www.visitliverpool.com the tourism website for the Liverpool City Region

Visit North West   www.visitnorthwest.com the tourism website for the Northwest

 

LARGE ARTS ORGANISATIONS

 

the Bluecoat   www.thebluecoat.org.uk  the oldest arts centre in Liverpool with galleries, performance space, food + drink, studios, shops
National Museums Liverpool   www.liverpoolmuseums.org.uk  have 8 major arts venues spread across Liverpool & the Wirral encompassing World Museum Liverpool, the Walker Art Gallery, Merseyside Maritime Museum, the International Slavery Museum, the National Conservation Centre, Lady Lever Art Gallery, Sudley House and the forthcoming Museum of Liverpool opening 2011

The Unity Theatre   www.unitytheatreliverpool.co.uk independent theatre encouraging creativity, participation, innovation and diversity

The Everyman & Playhouse Theatres www.everymanplayhouse.com

FACT (Foundation for Art and Creative Technology) www.fact.co.uk Cinema, art gallery and Britain’s principal electronic arts agency, specialising in moving image art and media.

Tate Liverpool   www.tate.org.uk/liverpool  International, modern and contemporary art gallery.

Liverpool Philharmonic Hall   www.liverpoolphil.com Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and home to the internationally renowned Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra.

Liverpool Biennial   www.biennial.com International Festival of Contemporary Art

Independents Liverpool Biennial   www.independentsbiennial.org the Independent strand of the Liverpool Biennial Festival of Contemporary Art

 

A-Z ARTS ORGANISATIONS

 

Merseyside ACME   www.merseysideacme.com Merseyside ACME exists to support and develop the Creative Industries Sector on Merseyside

Kin 2 Kin   www.kin2kin.co.uk  Linking Liverpool and Merseyside’s creative people.

Arena Studios & Gallery www.arenastudiosandgallery.com providing affordable studio space and the gallery is a platform for emerging talent to create and develop new ideas and work

Ariel Trust   www.arieltrust.com aims to improve young people’s lives by delivering innovative projects, based on best practice from the broadcasting industries

Merseyside Youth Association   www.mya.org.uk  an organisation providing opportunities and support for young people and those who work with young people

Africa Oye   www.africaoye.com  the biggest live free African Music Festival in the UK

Arabic Arts Festival   www.arabicartsfestival.co.uk a celebration of Arabic Arts and Culture

Baltic Triangle   www.baltictriangle.co.uk an historic area of Liverpool once an industrial area, now reclaimed by creatives, entrepreneurs and their combined businesses.

Bido Lito!   www.bidolito.co.uk  Liverpool music magazine in print and online offering a blend of extended features and exposé on emerging Liverpool artists, regional music news, extensive reviews and more.

The Black-E   www.theblack-e.co.uk (formerly The Blackie) is a combination of a contemporary arts centre with a community centre

Bluecoat Display Centre   www.bluecoatdisplaycentre.com is an independent contemporary crafts retail gallery, based within the Bluecoat Arts Centre

The Bridewell Studios & Gallery   www.bridewellstudios.co.uk  home to 36 artists and craftspeople, plus gallery space.

Brouhaha   www.brouhaha.uk.com is a professional arts organisation that operates within local, regional, national and international contexts

Camp and Furnace   www.campandfurnace.com   an unusual venue using three former industrial buildings: The Coach Shed, The Furnace and The Blade Factory in The Baltic Triangle

Can Cook Studio   www.cancookwillcook.org.uk   Aiming to get Merseysiders cooking and loving good food

Liverpool Comedy Trust   www.liverpoolcomedyfestival.co.uk run the annual Liverpool Comedy Festival and aim to develop and sustain new comedy talent

Collective Encounters   www.collective-encounters.org.uk are a small arts organisation who use theatre as a tool for social change and make new work for new audiences in new spaces

Community Channel   www.communitychannel.org Broadcasting original shows and showcasing the work of new directors, and community programme makers.

Corke Art Gallery   www.corkeartgallery.co.uk located in South Liverpool the gallery shows and sells work by local, national and international street, contemporary and fine artists.

Creative Enterprise Network   www.creative-enterprise-network.com  a free international network for creative entrepreneurs, and those associated with the creative industries, cultural enterprise, the creative economy.

David Parrish   www.davidparrish.com  Helping creative businesses to become even more successful

DaDa Disability and Deaf Arts   www.dadafest.co.uk To inspire, develop and celebrate talent and excellence in disability and deaf arts.

Dot-Art   www.dot-art.com  Art gallery and consultants making affordable original art accessible to all and helping artists promote and sell their work.

EggSpace   www.eggspace.org a gallery space in The Egg Cafe which aims to provide a platform for all emerging artists and art groups

Elevator Studios   www.elevatorstudios.com  Studio space for artists, musicians and other creative industries – Parliament Street above Lead Tea Shop. Elevator Recording Studio on Cheapside L2

Fab Collective   www.fabcollective.com  A collective of photographers based in Liverpool who photograph people and places through a variety of projects.

First Take   www.first-take.org  provides video training and production services to communities, voluntary organisations and local authorities

The Gallery Liverpool   www.thegalleryliverpool.co.uk  Gallery in the heart of Liverpool’s Independent Cultural District with a focus on local artists.

Homotopia   www.homotopia.net  Liverpool’s annual celebration of Queer Culture

Hope Street Ltd   www.hope-street.org international creation centre for Liverpool

Hurricane Films   www.hurricanefilms.net tell stories – fact and fiction – for both film and television

Kensington Vision CIC   sfaragher@hotmail.com   Training in Media, Video, Radio, Print Based and Photography in Communities.

The Lemon Collective   www.thelemoncollective.com   Culture, arts, reviews & events

Liverpool Acoustic   www.liverpoolacoustic.co.uk   The central resource for the Liverpool acoustic music scene

Liverpool Music    www.liverpoolmusic.org   A growing directory of Liverpool bands

Liverpool Irish Festival   www.liverpoolirishfestival.com a celebration of the traditional connections and contemporary links between Liverpool and Ireland

Liverpool Lantern Company   www.liverpoollanterncompany.co.uk is an artist led organisation who produce Lantern Carnivals, plus offer Lantern making and training, carnival costume, processional puppets and large scale processional imagery across Liverpool

Liverpool Centre for Arts Development (LCAD)   www.lcad.org.uk is a provider of Arts and Creative Industries training and development

Liverpool Cultural Heritage Forum   www.liverpoolheritageforum.org.uk  Networking organisation of voluntary societies actively interested in Liverpool’s culture and heritage, the recognised link with the Liverpool City Council.

Literature Northwest  www.literaturenorthwest.co.uk  A promotional and CPD tool for the region’s independent presses and literature organisations

Merseybells   www.merseybells.co.uk  An online resource and calendar for bellringers accross wider Liverpool and those interested in this traditional folk art.

Merseyside Dance Initiative (MDI)   www.merseysidedance.co.uk  the dance development agency for Merseyside

M Zone   www.mzone.org.uk supports youth music on Merseyside

Metal   www.metalculture.com/liverpool/ Space for artists and thinkers to develop their ideas and further philosophy of their work.

Milapfest   www.milapfest.com  Milapfest is the UK’s South Asian Arts Development Trust, run by national charity Milap Festival Trust.

Open Eye   www.openeye.org.uk One of the UK’s leading gallery spaces for photography.

Osun Arts   www.osunarts.co.uk A non-profit making organisation promoting African traditional arts and culture.

The Pagoda Chinese Community Centre  www.pagodaarts.org.uk

People’s Stories: Liverpool Lives   www.peoples-stories.com  not-for-profit web-based community reminiscence project, that allows people to share their memories of Liverpool throughout the years.

The Picket   www.myspace.com/picketliverpool  Music venue renowned for its support of local bands plus a range of International artists.

The Reader Organisation   www.thereader.org.uk aiming to improve well-being and build community through shared reading

Red Dot   www.red-dotexhibitions.co.uk  Artist collective, also run creative recycling projects/workshops

The Royal Standard   www.the-royal-standard.com  An artist-led gallery, studios and social workspace in Liverpool.

Sense of Sound   www.senseofsound.org  Provide vocal training and opportunities for singers and songwriters.

Spike Theatre   www.spiketheatre.com  A small-scale touring theatre company that creates accessible and visually exciting work.

Static Gallery   www.statictrading.com

The Suitcase Ensemble   www.suitcase-ensemble.com  Collective of artists and theatre makers creating imaginative performances with opportunities for members of the public to explore their creativity.

Tmesis Theatre   www.tmesistheatre.com  A reputable theatre group producing innovative, and thought provoking physical theatre.

Urban Canvas  www.merseyworld.com/interfest Professional visual artists providing street art projects for festivals and events

Urban Strawberry Lunch   www.usl.org.uk A group who use infinite resource to make great music from virtually any object, anywhere.

Ullaloom   www.ullaloom.co.uk A theatre company with a penchant for the dark, the mysterious and macabre.

Windows Project   www.windowsproject.co.uk  Helping people get into creative writing by making it fun!

Merseyside Woodturners   www.merseyturners.co.uk   A group of people who share an interest in turning wood into art, Gallery & Workshop in Calderstones Park.

WoW Festival   www.writingonthewall.org.uk Liverpool based writing festival celebrating writing, diversity, tolerance, story-telling and humour through controversy, inquiry and debate.

Wired Aerial Theatre  www.wiredaerialtheatre.com  theatre-based aerial dance work and the site-specific aerial shows.

Zho Visual Theatre   www.zhotheatre.co.uk Dedicated to the development of new innovative work, across art platforms.

20 Stories High   www.20storieshigh.org.uk Creates dynamic and challenging theatre which attracts new audiences.

2 Bio   http://incubatingart.blogspot.com/  representing local artists within the incubator building, MerseyBio at the University of Liverpool.

 

KNOWSLEY CULTURE

 

Knowsley Arts Service   www.knowsley.gov.uk/things-to-see-and-do/arts-service.aspx

Prescot Museum   www.prescotmuseum.org.uk

Huyton Art Gallery

Kirkby Art Gallery

National Wild Flower Centre   www.nwc.org.uk

Knowsley Community College   www.knowsleycollege.ac.uk

Knowlsey Council   www.knowsley.gov.uk

Knowsley Tourism   www.visitknowsley.com

 

HALTON CULTURE

 

Halton Arts Service   www2.halton.gov.uk/content/tourismandleisure/arts/ 

The Brindley   www.thebrindley.org.uk

Queens Hall Studio   www.loosemusic.org

Norton Priory   www.nortonpriory.org

Halton Borough Council (Widnes & Runcorn)   www.halton.gov.uk

Halton Tourism   www.visithalton.com

 

ST HELENS CULTURE

 

St Helens Arts Service   www.sthelens.gov.uk/lgnl.htm?id=838

The Citadel Arts Centre   www.citadel.org.uk

Level One Gallery & The World of Glass   www.levelonegallery.com

St Helens Theatre Royal   www.sthelenstheatreroyal.com

Godfrey Pilkington Art Gallery   www.visitsthelens.com

St Helens Council   www.sthelens.gov.uk

St Helens Tourism   www.visitsthelens.com

 

SEFTON CULTURE

 

Southport Arts Centre   www.seftonarts.co.uk

Crosby Civic Hall   www.seftonarts.co.uk

The Atkinson Art Gallery   www.seftonarts.co.uk

The Botanic Gardens Museum   www.seftonarts.co.uk

Sefton Arts Development   www.seftonarts.co.uk

Crosby Hall Educational Trust   www.chetcentre.co.uk

Plaza Cinema   www.plazacinema.org.uk

The Vitreum Arts Centre   Website

Sefton Council   www.sefton.gov.uk

Sefton Tourism   www.visitsouthport.com/sefton/home

Crosby Capriol Singers    www.crosbycapriolsingers.co.uk

 

WIRRAL CULTURE

 

Wirral Arts Service   www.wirral.gov.uk

Pacific Road Arts Centre   www.pacificroad.co.uk

Made In Wirral   www.madeinwirral.co.uk

Williamson Art Gallery and Museum

Ness Botanic Gardens   www.nessgardens.org.uk

New Brighton Floral Pavilion   www.floralpavilion.com

Wirral Borough Council   www.wirral.gov.uk

Wirral Tourism   www.visitwirral.com

The Oxton Artists   http://oxtonartfair.blogspot.com

 

MERSEYSIDE RADIO

 

Radio City Group   www.radiocity.co.uk | www.citytalk.fm | www.magic.co.uk

BBC Radio Merseyside   www.bbc.co.uk/liverpool/local_radio

Juice FM   www.juicefm.com

Icon Radio   www.liverpoolstudentmedia.com University of Liverpool’s Radio Station

Shout FM   www.shoutfm.com John Moores University Radio Station

KVFM 87.7 (Kensington Vision FM)   www.kvfm.wordpress.com www.kvfm2009.mypodcast.com   Community Broadcasting, RSLs (Restricted Service Licence),  & Radio Training across the North West. KVFM Online Service from April 1st 2010.

 

MERSEYSIDE PUBLICATIONS

 

Liverpool Daily Post   www.liverpooldailypost.co.uk

Liverpool Echo   www.liverpoolecho.co.uk

Seven Streets   www.sevenstreets.com

The Double Negative   www.thedoublenegative.co.uk

Object of Dreams   objectofdreams.wordpress.com

Liverpool Confidential   www.liverpoolconfidential.co.uk

Liverpool Weekly Merseymart and Star Series   www.icliverpool.co.uk

The Lemon Collective   www.thelemoncollective.com